Corp Cruid I

SKU: 28061 Categories: ,

13,50  VAT Included


Only 2 left in stock

Corp Cruid I was the only release of the planned tape series BleiBeil. The tracks were recorded over a longer period of time in 1988 – and in changing constellations that corresponded to the line-up of the East Berlin underground band Ornament & Verbrechen. 30 copies were circulated exclusively among friends. Concerts were not part of the plan, also due to the band’s rejection of a playing permit; there was no interest in being tolerated by the cultural apparatus, which treated projects like Corp Cruid with contempt or even hostility. Even before the GDR collapsed, in November 1989, almost half of the Ornament & Verbrechen musicians had left the country. Ensembles as remote from the state as Corp Cruid sounded like a faint scratch on the Wall of Sound of a hysterical system. The tape survived on a master tape and on a few copies; today the GDR is only its background noise.

The tapetopia series, using the original layouts and track lists, publishes cassette editions from the GDR underground of the 1980s, especially from the “walled-in” scene in East Berlin. More than three decades after their initial “release”, these tapes have yet to be heard on either vinyl or CD, even though they made an audible mark in the canon of GDR subculture. Despite the tiny original editions of the time, many of the bands were considered cult in countercultural circles, which made them highly suspect in informed circles.

A1. 37° C
A2. Mushrooms War
A3. Snow
A4. Odyssee
A5. Kolga
A6. Phase 4 (Bonus Track)
B1. Sex Box Man
B2. On Guard
B3. Rattlesnake
B4. Pablo Picasso
B5. Weiland Unterm Pflug (Bonus Track)