Experimental & Parametric Music 1976​-​2017

SKU: 27574 Categories: ,

19,00  VAT included


Only 2 left in stock

“Through ‘Experimental & Parametric Music 1976-2017’, more than 40 years of the composer’s work are unveiled. We discover here for the first time the great coherence of this work: from ‘Signalisations’ (1976) to ‘Mnemosyne pour une acousmaman’ (2017).
The twelve compositions are annotated and explained in detail by the composer, as well as a kind of wild autobiography.
Joris De Laet was born in 1947, Belgian by birth, self-taught by definition, parametric music and art video composer by choice. Founder of the S.E.M. (Studio voor Experimentele Muziek) in Antwerp, 1973. Internships at the IPEM (Instituut voor Psychoakoestiek en Elektronische Muziek) in Ghent, 1972–1975, under Karel Goeyvaerts, Lucien Goethals, and Dr. Herman Sabbe. De Laet is the founder of the SEMensemble, a group of musicians-composers specialized in performing experimental music and live electronics. From 1975 until 1990, he gave concerts with this ensemble throughout
Europe (Germany, France, The Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Croatia, etc.) and in Canada (Montreal, Kingston, Toronto).

Parametric Music
Inspired by the deep control on electronic sonics, he has been defining his work since 1979 as ‘Parametric Music,’ music where composition is based on transformation flows of one or several parameters, selected by the composer, that form, through their converging (or diverging) processes the main characteristics of the regulated sonics of the composition.”

A1. Au Plus De Soleil, Au Plus De Bruit (2007-08) 9:01
A2. Aural Silver (1993-1994) 9:53
B1. Cordes Et Corps (2009) 8:36
B2. Signalisations (1976) 8:35
C1. Masses D’Algorithmes Vers 12 Zones Chromatiques (1987) 11:24
C2. Mnemosyne Pour Une Acousmaman (2017) 4:26
C3. Amour Sacré (2005) 8:16
D1. Art Maniaque (2000) 11:04
D2. Madmatics (2002) 12:55