Project Bicycle

SKU: 15287 Categories: ,

5,00  VAT Included


Only 1 left in stock

“Put together by terrific Vancouver label Ache, Project Bicycle is a concept album, with each track created using a common sample of a bicycle making noise. The record is dedicated to promoting the environmentally-friendly transportation method of bicycling, and while it doesn’t really make me want to jump on a bike and jet it to the corner store for a handful of liquorice laces, it is a very solid sampling of experimental electronic music from the scene’s current citizens.
For the most part this record favours a strongly rhythmic approach, with the likes of Aelters, Secret Mommy (who sound identical to Niun Niggung-era Mouse on Mars), and current buzz-collector Jason Forrest adding solid slabs of complex electronica. Of course the concept of “beats” can become a little skewed – selections from Job Mica Och El and Wobbly use glitchy experimentation to construct their rhythms. Meanwhile, a few of the tracks are much more abstract, like Uske Niko’s “Les Claxons De Madame Du Pont” and Greg Davis’ sparse “Sagres.” In the end, we get a rather varied experimental electronic release; this inconsistency results in a record that’s a little tough to get a handle on, but also offers much to the open-minded ear. And for the glitch enthusiast, it means you’re guaranteed to find one artist that appeals especially to you (mine is DJ Elephant Power). What are you waiting for?

Fun Fact: This project is open-sourced, meaning anyone who gets this album can take the sample (included at the end of the disc) and make their own creation based on it.”

1. Aelters – Roulé Brouillé 3:15
2. Jab Mica Och El – Side Car Bicycle 2:34
3. Sun OK Papi K.O. – Pizza Boy’s Bike 2:47
4. Secret Mommy – Gas Prices 4:34
5. DJ Elephant Power – Bikebou 3:15
6. Tu M’ – Ladri Di Bicicletti 6:30
7. Romanhead – Bicycle Work 4:59
8. Uské Niko – Les Klaxons De Madame Dupont 1:12
9. Greg Davis – Sagres (V.6) 6:36
10. Wobbly – Flee You 6:22
11. Jason Forrest – Breaking Away 3:00
12. Jesse Gander – Original Sample 1:47