Next One’s Called

SKU: 26470 Categories: ,

14,50  VAT Included


Only 1 left in stock

“Next One’s Called could be seen as the missing link between Slaughter in a Tiny Place (SR 298CD/LP, 2010) and 1982’s Europa (SR 372LP) — the third and final LP report from Pseudocode. All songs here are previously unreleased; Recorded and mixed between 1980 and 1981. Pseudocode were a Belgian electronic improvised music band, active from 1980 to 1982. Featuring Xavier Ess (Thrills), Guy-Marc Hinant, and Alain Neffe (Insane Music, Bene Geserit), the material on Next One’s Called sees Pseudocode in a kind of free form minimal electronique concrete mood. There’s even the odd suggestion of a pop tune here and there, maybe even some danceable beats; if you’ve got one leg shorter than the other. While Xavier S. contributes most of the lyrics and vocals, Guy-Marc Hinant plays the core melody often on guitar or electric piano. Neffe’s contributions are particularly noteworthy throughout, as he weaves together the bulk of the sonic cloth through overdubbing and mixing — one of his parts is remotely virtuosic (hence his self-identification as a non-musician), but they are always unexpected and perfect in and of themselves, emotionally and sonically, and in that sense, they are deeply musical.”

A1. A.D.
A2. Lament
A3. War Dance And Incantation
B1. Next One’s Called
B2. They Told Me
B3. Fascination”