Slaughter In A Tiny Place

SKU: 23386 Categories: ,

17,00  VAT Included


Out of stock

“Legendary Belgian electronic improvised music band including 12 unreleased tracks. Recorded between the beginning of 1980 to the end of 1982.

Pseudocode features Xavier Ess (Thrills) Guy-Marc Hinant, Alain Neffe (Insane Music, BeNne GeSSeRit, Human Flesh, Subject, I Scream… ).
While Xavier S. contributes most of the lyrics and vocals, and it is Guy-Marc Hinant who often plays the core melody on his Pianet electric piano, Neffe’s contributions are particularly noteworthy throughout, as he weaves together the bulk of the sonic cloth through overdubbing and mixing. One of his parts are remotely virtuosic (hence his self-identification as a non-musician), but they are always unexpected and perfect in and of themselves, emotionally and sonically, and in that sense they are deeply musical. This record is the missing link between the 2 EP’s / the 2 Potlach cassettes and Europa, the final recorded – and probably their best work.

Captagon Years

“In that time, the onset of the eighties, we had the opportunity to create from sound itself instead of notes, from noise, screams, any chord, relevant or irrelevant.
Xavier (with Stéphane Barbery, Digital Dance), had been in one of Brussels’ first punk bands, Thrills. Alain had over 10 years of music experience and was influenced by kosmische musik and all kinds of weird and experimental music; he had put together several improvisation ensembles in the area, including the noisy Kosmose, which I joined as a teenager. Now that I had digested punk, I was into Throbbing Gristle, Cabaret Voltaire, The Pop Group, Red Crayola, This Heat… and all these influences show up upon listen.
This double vinyl was made with in mind the urgency of these times. All tracks are unpublished and in this sub-collection, we intend to release a series of LP like they would be released at that time.” (GMH)”

A1. Growing Down 3:13
A2. You’re Not Alone 6:20
A3. Cut Up 12:10
B1. Works 11:20
B2. Flesh Shop 11:39
C1. Fight Back (The Angels) 19:49
C2. I Don’t Say More 3:37
D1. Slaughter In A Tiny Place 0:33
D2. Sad Song 6:00
D3. Kind Of A Bitch 11:00
D4. Another Country 2:34
D5. Refuse The Punishment 3:07